Death by Coconut pie


“I’m sorry, you can’t have this if you’re not a low carb high fat fan, this pie will kill you with her soft subtle and creamy coconut notes dancing delicately on your non fat palate”

This is the exact sarcastic words I would like to whisper to my haters while they anxiously await my sudden death from cardiovascular disease. But let’s just back track a little. Not so long ago I ungracefully resigned from the low-fat fan club. I say ungracefully because I wasn’t exactly pleased with that beautiful man’s mouth, asking me to consider a low carb higher fat diet. Admitting I only said yes because one; he is beautiful and two; obviously quite knowledgeable.

For a moment I thought about all the wonderful things I would miss, home made bread slapped senseless with my low-fat margarine, low-fat, sugar-free fruity cakes, and my favourite, favourite thing in the world, potatoes.

I heart potatoes.

I mean you have to understand, I literally made a living out of making bland diet food taste good. I’m the calorie queen for heaven sakes! This bold, reckless advise from that beautiful man changed everything.

Very soon all that “know how” didn’t matter because after six weeks of experimenting with his awkward gesture I suddenly had empty grocery cupboards, talk about wasted space! Most of what I gathered during my fat-free huntings weren’t even considered real food, some more harshly got labelled chemical shit storms.

But guess what, now I can have wonderful fatty coconut pies that rolls of my tongue while my brain sings hallelujah in the perfect Angel pitch without guilt feelings, without counting stupid calories, without feeling deprived.

So, take your perfectly baked bread and your low-fat margarine and stick it! Honey, I’ve got healthy fats and they taste divine on my new skinny tongue. Oh yes I’ve lost some weight too!

Recipe 

1 cup Coconut milk

40g Desiccated coconut

2 eggs

1 tsp Vanilla extract

25g Coconut flour

4 tbsp Butter

1/4 cup Xylitol

1/4 tsp Ground nutmeg

*Additional – Mascarpone to serve it with

Preheat oven to 180 degrees celsius

Place the coconut milk, coconut, eggs, vanilla extract, coconut flour, butter and xylitol in a blender. Blitz until well combined. The mixture may appear to curdle but this is normal.

Pour into a greased pie dish. Sprinkle nutmeg on top and bake for 35 -40 minutes until golden brown and your kitchen smells heavenly.

Sprinkle a little extra nutmeg on top before serving and additionally add a dollop of Mascarpone.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Death by Coconut pie

Comments are closed.