Chicken Zoodle soup – Excuse me its gluten free and low fat as well!



Some of my happiest childhood memories were created over a pot of steaming hot delicious soup.

My dad would very seriously take his soup mug, walk out through the front door and place it in the mail box to cool it down in the icy winter weather to the utter delight of me and my siblings. His joke was just as good as the first few spoonfuls of hearty bean soup accompanied by the crispy warm “Vetkoek” that was baked earlier during the day.

I guess soup to me is what chocolate is to other people.

On a lighter side of a heavy winter soup is my version of a chicken and veggie soup with noodles made from zucchini hence the name “Zoodles”. 

Oh excuse me, did I mention that it is gluten-free and low-fat as well?!

Enjoy this quilt free light meal as a filling lunch.

Recipe

Serves 3

400 g Chicken fillets

1 TBS Veggie spices (I’ve used the Ina Paarman Garlic and herbs spices) 

4 medium carrots (peeled and cut into rings)

2 small shallots (finely chopped)

pinch of Chilli flakes

A few stems of spring onion ( about 20 g)

10 ml olive oil

350 zucchini”s (peeled and cut length wise  into thin ribbons with a potato peeler or mandoline slicer ) 

40 g baby spinach (finely chopped)

250 ml Chicken stock (I’ve used the Ina Paarman’s chicken stock sachets diluted in 250 ml water)

*Maybe we should call it the Ina Paarman Chicken Zoodle soup instead! 🙂 

2 TBS Chick pea flour

Salt and pepper to taste


Place the Chicken fillets, carrots and the Veggie spices in a pot and cover with water. Cook until the carrots are soft and the chicken cooked through.

Strain the chicken and carrots and keep aside, discard the water. Chop the chicken into bite size chunks. Keep aside. 

Fry the shallots in the olive oil until translucent, add spring onions and zucchini and fry for +- 3 minutes.

Add the chickpeas flour to 350 ml water and whisk with a fork to ensure that there is no clumps. Add the 350 ml chickpeas and water mix plus the 250 ml chicken stock to the veggies. Add the chicken and carrots back to the pot with the chilli flakes and simmer for +- 5 minutes.

Season with salt and pepper. 

Capture

One thought on “Chicken Zoodle soup – Excuse me its gluten free and low fat as well!

Comments are closed.