For my Funeral Buffet…Black Sesame bread


Black Sesame Bread

I accidentally came across this black sesame seed bread and couldn’t wait to bake it!  This little black bread’s colour is solely due to the 1/2 cup of black sesame seeds added to the batter.  This is like a little taste of heaven on your tongue, the slight sweetness, the nutty taste from the sesame and the moist ever so delicious texture of the bread….divine!

Anyway…with the luscious aroma of roasted sesame seed and melted butter hanging in my kitchen,I decided there and then that this bread should be served at my funeral buffet!

Since I’m busy with my pre funeral plans  I would also like to request that my favourite feel good song is played.

Ghost busters! 🙂  Enjoy!

Black Sesame Bread

Recipe

150 g Melted lite Margarine

1/2 cup of black sesame seeds (toasted)

2 tbs Brown sugar

1/2 tsp soy sauce

2 eggs

100 g Flour

1/2 tsp Baking powder

pinch of salt

1 tablespoon of black or white sesame seeds for sprinkling on top

Preheat oven to 180 degrees.

Combine melted margarine and sesame seeds in a food processor and pulse until a paste is formed.

Add the paste to a medium pot with the sugar and soy sauce and stir, simmer for a minute or two.

Remove from heat and allow to cool down before adding the eggs one by one.

Sift the flower, baking powder and salt and fold into the sesame mixture.

Pour batter into lightly greased bread pan and sprinkle the sesame seeds on top.

Bake 25 – 30 minutes. Test with a toothpick, if it comes out clean it is ready.

 

One thought on “For my Funeral Buffet…Black Sesame bread

Comments are closed.