Homemade Hummus


DSC_0351 (1)

Adapt or die is something our Highveld woman knows all to well.

It is not uncommon for us to substitute ingredients as you never find ingredients you need in our shops.

Because I love Hummus so, so much I had to alter the original recipe a bit as it is such a waste for me to buy a huge bottle of tahini  to only use 2 tbsp every time I make hummus. Because just how much tahini can one eat, right?

I’ve replaced the Tahini paste and Olive oil with Sesameaseed oil as Tahini is made of sesame seeds, at least the Sesame seed oil last longer in my pantry as I can use it in my stir fry’s ever so often.

The fat content of this recipe is much lower as I only use 3 tbs of sesame oil. Keep refrigerated and use within a week.

Hummus 

1 glove of garlic

3 tbsp Sesame seed oil

2 tbsp lemon juice (freshly squeezed is the best!)

1 can chickpeas, rinsed

+- 2tbsp water

Salt and black pepper to taste

In a blender chop the garlic, sesame seed oil, and lemon juice. Add the chickpeas and pulse for +- 1 minute.

Add +- 2 tbsp of water to the mixture and pulsate for another 1-2 minutes.

The water makes the hummus more creamier since we have reduced the oil in the recipe.

Season with salt and pepper and enjoy with crackers, instead of butter on pita’s  or sandwiches or as a dip for raw veggies.

