Low GI Carrot Cake


044

 

Carrot Cake anyone?

Made this a few months ago and never got time to post it…story of my life!

I’ve been crazy busy and somehow got lost in work and other chores and as usual you get up one morning and realize you feel like you do because again you put other people’s needs in front of your own.

Isn’t it just a curse. Well I’m claiming back my time!  that means I’m going to make time to blog, play Golf, and get my house in order (so much pins that I want to try out…Yes you know what I’m talking about my fellow pinterest junkies )

Anyhow, try this gorgeous moist low GI carrot cake, to die for!

Ingredients

200 ml (180g) “lite” margarine

250 ml (1 cup) castor sugar

3 eggs ( 2 whole eggs + 1 egg white)

250 ml  (1 cup) cake flour, sifted before measuring

pinch of salt

5 ml (1 t) bicarbonate of soda

10 ml (2t) baking powder

7 ml (1 1/2 t ) ground cinnamon

2 ml (1/2t) ground nutmeg

Pinch of ground cloves

250 ml (1 cup) oatbran

125 ml (1/2 cup) grated carrot

1 grated apple

150 ml (3/5 cup) sultanas

Icing

250 ml (1 tub) cottage cheese

* I’ve use kraft’s less fat cream cheese in my recipe

60 ml (4 t) icing sugar

5 ml (1 t) vanilla essence

Cream margarine and sugar together 

in a separate bowl, sift the flour, salt, bicarbonate, spices and baking powder together. Add oatbran, lifting the mixture with a spoon to incorporate air.

To the margarine and sugar, add eggs one by one, adding 2 or 3 tablespoons dry ingredients with each egg. Beat no more than 1 minute after each addition.

Stir the rest of the dry ingredients into the egg mixture using a wooden spoon. Fold in the raw carrots, apple and sultanas.

Place in a greased 25 cm round cake tin and bake at 160 degrees for 30 – 45 minutes. leave to cool completely.

Mix ingredients for the icing and spread over the cake.

 

One thought on “Low GI Carrot Cake

Comments are closed.