Rosemary and Beef Kofta’s with spicy rice


Beef Kofta's with spicy rice

Phew! I’ts been  more than a week since my last post.

I’m exhausted, emotionally unstable (blame it on the full moon), I don’t have an appetite (sorry can’t cook if I’m not hungry) and besides that I just can’t seem to get ahead of my workload….

Anyway, I’ve discovered a bottle of Robertson’s spice for rice in the back of my grocery cupboard and thought I should make some spicy rice to go with the Rosemary Kofta’s.

If you don’t have spice for rice you could simply add 3 ml turmeric and 2,5 ml chilli powder to your rice while cooking.

For the Rosemary koftas

 600 g Beef mince

6 sprigs of Rosemary

Salt and pepper to taste

5 ml of chopped rosemary

5 ml paprika

1/2 cup of Brown bread crumbs ( whiz up one slice of bread in a food processor)

Oil for frying

Remove the leaves from the Rosemary sprigs leaving a tiny bit behind at the end of each sprig.

Use 5 ml of the rosemary leaves that was removed and chop finely.

Mix all the ingredients together for the koftas. Shape the meat by hand into a sausage and stick the Rosemary “skewers” in the middle of your kofta.

Fry in a hot pan until done.

For the Spicy rice

2 cups of cooked rice (Cook with rice spices)

1 onion

1 carrot (thin julienne slices)

1/2 cup of fresh or frozen peas

handful of flat leave parsley (roughly chopped)

1 tbsp garlic butter

Olive oil for frying

Slice your onions and caramelize in the olive oil. Add the Julienne carrots and saute’ for a few minutes, add the peas and saute for another 3 – 4 minutes. Add the garlic butter to the veggies and season with salt and ground pepper. Add your cooked rice to the veggies and mix through. Garnish with chopped flat leave parsley.

9 thoughts on “Rosemary and Beef Kofta’s with spicy rice

  1. Your recipe is lovely. I have tried it. After doing some research on all types of beef meatballs, I found that a teaspoon of ground cumin and coriander powder and some crushed garlic in the kofta/meatball, burger patty etc, made it taste even more incredible. I also replaced the breadcrumbs with 100 ml of oats (to lower the GI of the kofta)

    Thanks for the recipes 🙂

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for visiting my blog! This looks so yummy and succulent. And it’s fairly simple too! All your meat dishes are making my mouth water 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.