Quick Olive, Onion and Cheese bread


Quick olive, onion and cheese bread

“There are people in the world so hungry that God cannot appear to them except in the form of bread.” Mahatma Gandhi (1869-1948)

The smell of bread baking in the oven, what a privilege to experience.

I’ve used my muffin recipe to make this quick bread last Saturday.

Firstly because everybody stared at me with starvation in their eyes and I just realized nobody is going to wait for me while I try to spoon the mixture into paper cups.

 Secondly because I was tired, and if I have learned anything from myself in this lifetime it is that I should not be near the kitchen when I don’t feel like cooking. Besides our little town no longer have a fire brigade!

This is the basic recipe:

500 ml Cake flour

15 ml baking powder

5 ml salt

1 large egg

225 ml Milk

Sift the flour, baking powder and salt together. Whisk the egg and the milk together. Add the egg mixture to the dry ingredients and add any of the following variations to the batter.

Batter used above: Olive, Onion and Cheese

1 onion finely chopped, fry in a little olive oil.

50 g chopped Kalamata olives

50 g Grated Matured Cheddar Cheese

or

Bacon, Feta, Olive and Thyme

125 g Bacon bits, fried until crisp

50 g chopped Kalamata olives

1 Wheel of Feta, crumbled

5 ml dried Thyme or 10 ml fresh chopped Thyme

or

Parmesan, Sage and Onion

100 g Fresh parmesan cheese grated (divide, one half added to batter and the other half sprinkled on top before baking)

10 ml chopped fresh Sage

1/2 onion chopped finely

If you are baking this in the form of muffins, bake for +- 20 minutes in a 180 degree pre heated oven. If you bake this as a quick bread bake 25-30 minutes, test with a skewer to make sure it did cook through.

I’ve used a round oven dish instead of a bread pan.

Quick Olive,Onion and Cheese bread

5 thoughts on “Quick Olive, Onion and Cheese bread

Comments are closed.