Slow cooked Tomato stew


Tomato Stew

It is summer in South Africa, the last few days however we have been experiencing some wet and cold weather conditions on the Highveld. It is the kind of weather that reminds you of winter,  hot soups and creamy stews, my favorite time of the year!

This lovely Tomato stew (Tamatie Bredie in Afrikaans) is a family favourite that I love to serve with fresh home-baked bread.  There is nothing quite as nice as to sweep your plate clean with a slice of bread  sucking up all the lovely juices.

Make sure you have at least an hour and half on hand for this dish as it needs to cook slowly at a low temperature.

Ingredients

20 ml olive oil

1 – 2 Onions (sliced)

 2.5 ml Jeera ( Cummin seeds)

2,5 ml Garam Masala spice

1 tsp grated fresh ginger

2 garlic gloves (peeled and crushed)

2.5 ml ground pepper corns

2.5 ml salt

 500 g beef chuck ( roughly cubed)

2 – 3 carrots (peeled and sliced into rings)

4-5 potatoes (peeled and quartered)

5 ml dried Thyme

1 bay leave

4 -5 tomatoes (finely chopped)

50 g tomato puree

15 ml sugar

60 ml chutney (strong)

10 ml Worcestershire sauce

Use a large pot, heat up and add olive oil. Braise the onions together with the Jeera and masala for a few minutes until the onions are soft and translucent. Add the ginger, garlic, salt and pepper and  the beef and braise for a few minutes untill the meat is sealed.  Add the Thyme, bay leaves, carrots and potatoes and full the pot with just enough water to cover the ingredients, reduce the heat and let it cook with the lid on until the potatoes are soft. Remove the potatoes and keep separate. Add the tomatoes, tomato puree, sugar, chutney and Worcestershire sauce  to the meat and cook on a slow heat with the lid on for +- 45 minutes untill the sauce has thickened naturally. Stir every 10 minutes and ensure that there is enough cooking juices  by adding water or beef stock to the meat should it cook dry. Before serving add the potatoes and salt and pepper to taste and let the stew rest for 5 minutes with the lid on.

Serve with freshly baked bread.

4 thoughts on “Slow cooked Tomato stew

  1. Hello, i think that i noticed you visited my website so i came to “return the choose”.I’m attempting to find issues to enhance my site!I guess its good enough to use some of your ideas!!

    Like

  2. I wish to show some appreciation to you just for rescuing me from this type of problem. After searching throughout the world wide web and coming across thoughts which are not productive, I figured my life was over. Existing minus the answers to the issues you’ve fixed through the post is a crucial case, as well as ones which may have badly affected my career if I hadn’t encountered your web site. That know-how and kindness in taking care of all things was helpful. I am not sure what I would’ve done if I hadn’t encountered such a step like this. It’s possible to at this point relish my future. Thanks for your time so much for the impressive and effective guide. I will not think twice to recommend your web site to any individual who needs tips on this situation.

    Like

Comments are closed.