(Almost meat free) Cheese and Vegetable tart


So I’ve cheated with 6 slices of ham in this recipe. In my defense it was not on purpose. I’ve opened the fridge and there it was! I realized it is Saturday and no one is having sandwiches over the weekend.  So my conscious told me to add it to the Veggie tart instead. It was either in the tart or to the dog, and no matter how much I adore my dog I was sure as not going to give him the ham, maybe if it was Christmas morning but not on a September afternoon, such action would qualify as “spoiling the dog”.

Anyway, this tart don’t need ham or any other meat, it is really good on its own. At first I thought there is too little moisture in this recipe but something magical happens between the natural juices of the veggies and the cream cheese.

Recipe

3 extra-large eggs

200 g fat-free cottage cheese (1 tub) smooth or chunky

5 ml parmesan cheese, grated

1 garlic glove chopped

Freshly ground pepper to taste

500 g Fresh or frozen veggies of your choice

For this recipe I’ve used:

1/2 onion finely sliced and 1/2 punnet of chopped brown mushrooms.

1/2 bunch of spinach chopped finely, 1 grated carrot, 2 grated courgettes.

60 g Mozzarella / Matured Cheddar cheese.

1 tsp Robertson’s veggie spices (optional)

2.5 ml Paprika

2.5 ml Salt

Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees.  Spray a pie dish with non stick spray.

Saute’ the onions and mushrooms in olive oil, add the veggie spice and salt.

Mix the eggs, cottage cheese, parmesan cheese, garlic and black pepper.

Mix all of the vegetable together and add to your pie dish.

Pour egg and cottage cheese mixture over veggies and add the grated cheese evenly over the top.

Sprinkle with paprika and bake for 25-35 minutes until golden brown.

_____________________________________________________________

Tips

This is a great low-fat, high protein meal.

Each portion is equal to 2 veggies, 2 lean protein portions, 1/2 low-fat dairy and 1/2 fat.

Add ham! 🙂

__________________________________________

5 thoughts on “(Almost meat free) Cheese and Vegetable tart

Comments are closed.