Cauliflower Pizza base with Bacon and Mushroom topping


I finally tried it, Cauliflower pizza base.

 I LOVE pizza, I LOVE cauliflower so accidently discovering this recipe on the net had me so excited that I could hardly wait to make it.

It’s that funny feeling that creeps up on you that make you go to the supermarket to especially buy the ingredients because you cannot wait until your next bread and milk purchase.

 I suspected that my son would enjoy it, well enjoy was a understatement as he came back asking for seconds.

I think this is the perfect recipe for little children, a healthy alternative to pizza.

Ingredients – Base 

 1 cup cauliflower rice (see tips below)

1/2 cup of Mozarella Cheese

1 egg

1 teaspoon mixed herbs (Oregano, parsley, basil)

Topping

 Bacon

1 medium onion

1/2 punnet of mushrooms

1/2 cup of cheese (Mozarella or cheddar)

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with non-stick spray or a little olive oil.

Mix the cauliflower rice, cheese and egg together. Spread evenly onto your baking sheet and sprinkle with the mixed herbs.

 Bake 15-20 minutes in the oven.

In the meantime fry your onions, mushrooms and bacon.

 Remove pizza from oven, add toppings and broil under a hot grill.

_________________________________________________________

Tips  

              How to make cauliflower rice    

Steam your cauliflower, set aside to cool slightly and pulse in your food processor until finely chopped.

It should be processed to the size of rice grains. Alternatively the cauliflower could be grated.

The original recipe calls for a cup of cheese, I’ve only used half of that amount as a full cup would be justtoo much for me. I’ve steamed the cauliflower instead of cooking. Even with steaming the cauliflower it was a tiny bit soggy, next time I wouldn’t steam it that much as the cauliflower basically cooks in the oven.

I can honestly not see that this recipe could work well if you had to cook the cauliflower in water.                        _________________________________________________________

5 thoughts on “Cauliflower Pizza base with Bacon and Mushroom topping

Comments are closed.