Venison Pie with a spicy poached Pear salad


While on holiday in the Eastern Cape earlier this year my sister-in-law booked a show for us at The Potters Place in Jeffrey’s bay. The show was fantastic and the food was really good! I’ve ordered the venison pie with steamed dried fruit which were absolute divine to say the least. The sweetness of the fruit complimented the venison beautifully.

As I was  staring out of the kitchen window the other day  images of that venison pie taunted me and on the spot I decided that will be dinner! The motivation was off course the steamed dried fruit which was non existant in my kitchen at the moment  and I was way too lazy to do shopping.

So I’ve decided to try an old favorite that I normally serve with cream or ice cream for dessert, poached pears.

What I did: 

I’ve Peeled and deseeded 2  Pears and poached them with the juice and Zest of two oranges, a cinnamon stick,  a Cardamom pod and a tbs of sugar.  After poaching I’ve layered the pears on a bed of salad and chunks of feta Cheese.

For the venison pie

 600 g Venison meat

2 bay leaves

4 gloves

1tsp coriander seeds

Cover the venison with water in a pot and cook with the spices on low heat for 2 -3 hours until soft.  As soon as the meat falls from the bone it’s ready. Remove meat from the pot and set aside.

Filling 

1 medium onion – diced

garlic glove – chopped

1-2 medium potatoes diced

2-3 carrots diced

50 ml red wine

+- 1 tbsp flour / gravy powder

Fry the onion and garlic, add the potatoes and the carrots and saute for another minute. Add just enough water to cover the potatoes and cook for a few minutes until the veggies are done.  Make a paste with the flour and a little water and add it with the meat and the red wine to the rest of the ingredients, simmer for a minute or two. Remove from the heat.

Puff pastry

1 roll of ready made puff pastry

Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees.

Roll out pastry to cover the bottom of your pie dish, add meat filling and cover with the remainder of the puff pastry.

Bake pie for +- 20 minutes or until golden.

Jeffreys Bay

2 thoughts on “Venison Pie with a spicy poached Pear salad

Comments are closed.