I did it my way French toast!


My mother was not the greatest cook, but when she made French Toast it was always perfect!

Only years later I have learned that “Eier brood” as my mom would call it is indeed French toast and traditionally  not served with Butter and Aromat seasoning but with Cinnamon or Maple syrup.

Could you imagine my husbands surprise when I made Savory French Toast the first time as a young married couple while he grew up with French Toast sprinkled with Cinnamon sugar.

The look on his face said it all, well needless to say I still look at him like he is the crazy one and he is still eating my savory French Toast!

____________________________________________________________________________

Tips

Don’t use fresh bread. 

Use a hot pan! This will give your bread that lovely golden color. 

____________________________________________

This is my version.

I’ve used sliced whole-wheat bread.

Assemble a sandwich with ham in the middle and cheese on both sides.

Pop into the microwave oven for +- 20 seconds or just enough time to let the cheese

melt in order to keep the sandwich together while  frying.

Press the sandwich flat with your hands while still warm and set aside while you

beat the eggs. Season with chopped chives, salt and pepper.

Dip the sandwich in the egg batter on both sides  and fry in a hot pan with butter or olive oil.

Serve hot.

6 thoughts on “I did it my way French toast!

  1. That’s so brilliant! My boyfriend likes to make french toast AND grilled cheese sandwiches…I think he’s going to have his mind blown with this one!

    Like

Comments are closed.